November 27th, 2018

After leading the Big Ten with 20.5 tackles for loss during the regular season, Michigan State junior defensive end Kenny Willekes has been named the 2018 Smith-Brown Defensive Lineman of the Year. Willekes is the second Spartan to win the award (Shilique Calhoun in 2013), which is named after MSU’s Bubba Smith and Penn State’s Courtney Brown and given to the Big Ten’s most outstanding defensive lineman.

Source: Michigan State Official Athletic Site